He Is Able

3 Aug

Ephesians 3:20 has been an encouragement to me for years now. It says “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” The Lord gave me that verse years ago when contemplating a desire he had begun to put in me to impact those around me for His kingdom through writing. Interestingly and amid circumstances totally unexpected, years later in July 2011, this verse has ignited an inner faith without which I wouldn’t be about to express to you what I’m about to express. You see, I found out I had a cancerous brain tumour in early July. But I’m here to express – and hopefully encourage you – that I am very confident that I will be healed of this and live many years this side of eternity. The source of that confidence is my relationship with Jesus and His Spirit who empowers me.

He is able. Those three words suffice. No justification required. No explanation required of how, where, or when He might accomplish it. No need to defer to, in this case, the medical community and to the often gloomy prognoses for those inflicted with this disease.

Through His mighty power at work within us. That is the operative phrase in the verse. His Spirit, deposited in me in response to my faith in Christ, is the source of my hope and expectation of victory in this battle. This is the same Spirit that raised Christ from the dead. It is His Spirit, accessible to us today whatever the circumstances. If detached from His Spirit, I am left to fight this battle on my own strength, which would virtually devoid me of hope and expectation of victory. As Zechariah 4:6 says, “it is not by force nor by strength, but by my Spirit, says the Lord.” His Spirit, infused with our faith in Christ, is critical. I actually prefer the New International Version, which says “…who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” According to his power suggests to me an accord, an agreement. We have to operate according to, in agreement with, His Spirit and how He is calling us to walk in and through the circumstances at hand.

To accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. That’s the outcome of the combination of His Spirit in us and our cooperation with Him. Infinitely more; I like that. Our God is a God of the infinite, the limitless. We can ask and think big and expect a surpassing response! Admittedly, it’s easy to become discouraged and fearful if focusing on doctor’s prognoses, cancer-related statistics, or stories of individuals with brain tumors with undesirable outcomes. But Ephesians 3:20 renews hope and sharpens the focus. In God’s eyes, this tumour is minute and so within His power to heal.

Lying in my hospital bed the night my wife told me that the removed tumour was cancerous, after some initial fear and shock (I had been believing for a benign tumour), I lay there with an anticipation, an excitement, of what God was about to do, of how God was going to work this out, and of the impact it was going to have on the lives of those who know me. I’ve never had a more powerful illustration of God’s Spirit at work in me. For this is me, John, historically a worrier to end all worriers, after being told that a tumour just removed from his brain contained cancer, who is now looking with anticipation regarding how – not if – God was going to heal him. I’ve experienced greater anxiety over far less serious, certainly not life threatening, circumstances. It was an undeniably God-given peace, that which surpasses all understanding, which was covering me.

Now all glory to God. The glory for what God is about to do must go exclusively to Him. I know God will hold up His end of the agreement. My role is to walk by faith and not by sight, trusting Him to prove whom He says He is and to do what He promises to do. Please feel free to join me on this journey.

8 Responses to “He Is Able”

  1. Tim Hawman August 4, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    John,

    Absolutely awsome post. Look forward to following your blog. Am continuing to pray.

    Tim

  2. Brenda MArtin August 4, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I stand with you John for your complete healing, because Jesus says “we ARE Healed”

    Believe and rest in Him.

    Bless you

    • Connie Hehn August 6, 2011 at 1:07 am #

      John and Lynn, The Lord has truly given you much to lean on him for. You have so truly taken that challenge and put your whole trust in him for this healing! Praise God for that! You truly know he is your healer and your provider through all of this. All our love and prayers are with you and the family to keep you all trust worthy in the lord through this difficult time. This will be a wonderful story of healing and strength in the Lord. love you guys! Connie & Lee and family oxoxoxoxoxo

  3. Karen August 6, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    John,your faith is bigger than the diagnosis.Your faith has already made you well.All things are possible to those that believe. There is nothing too hard for our Lord!”Just Believe”.It is so obvious that God is with you. Your writing is an inspiration and a window into the Spirit of God that is working inside of you.God bless you and keep you. May His face shine upon you. May His grace dwell with you. May His love carry you. May His hand heal you.We are praying and God will answer. He always does!!

  4. Kait Finlay August 6, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    John, as a fellow blogger, journalist and writer, I am so excited to see this blog put up… to encourage you and to battle through in words your raw emotions. Thank you for sharing your heart here so we can continue to lift you up in prayer and stand by you as you and Lynn travel this road together.. Think of you often, Love and prayers xoxo The Finlays

  5. jeanne jagoe August 6, 2011 at 4:08 am #

    ‘in the roar of my waterfalls, deep calls unto deep’-may we hear this sound, amid the circumstances, as His deep calls unto our deep….His is our depth….thank you for articulating your process John, and look forward to more of your sharing. your words written in faith will bear fruit.

  6. Candace Hoyt-Gregory August 6, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Hi John and Lynn

    Steve read John’s blog last night and I this afternoon. Thank you for being transparent with all of us. We are joining you in prayer and believing for divine healing knowing by HIS stripes you are healed. Blessings ONYA , Steve and Candace xoxo

  7. willard macarthur August 16, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    i john and lyn myi heart is with both and i have a possitive feelilng lhe guy upstairs is looking after you John we have neverl met but both have had brain surgery in the st. john hospital what a wonderful place. mine for a aneurysn tha exploxed in myl head, my son at tha time as doing heart surgery in mayo clinc rorchester minnoseto. when he was advised of my problem the drl didnt give much hope and rod thought he would be a orphan when he got to st. john but i was doing good and the guy unstairs need me more down herel my best Isath is a black man with a lot faith and his church is praying for you as i speak it is the north preston black baptis church Well john and Lynn if think you need please ask sorry rod was so long getting bback to ou take care uncle Willard

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

